Connect with us


Lagos city Marathon 2019 winners



An Ethiopian athlete, Sintayehu Legese has won the Lagos City Marathon male category for the year 2019. Legese finished the race in 02:17:28 hrs while Kenyans Joshua Kipkorir finished in 02:18:16 hrs coming second and William Yegon from Kenya finished in 02:19:04 taking the third position.

Lagos city Marathon 2019 winners

Sintayehu Legese

Finishing the race first lands you $50,000 which Legese is smiling home with. Second and third race winner takes home $40,000 and $30,000 respectively.

The Nigerian runner, male Sunday Manasa who performed best ended the race in sixth position in 02:21:11 hrs.

Lagos city Marathon 2019 winners

Lagos city Marathon 2019 winners

Lagos City Marathon is a 42km distance race hosted by Access Bank. The race starts at the National Stadium in Surulere, Lagos. The sports event is on it’s fourth edition.

Lagos city Marathon 2019 winners

The female category also had an Ethiopian wining the first position and a Nigerian coming sixth position.

Meseret finished in 02:48:02hrs coming first position. while Alemnesh Herepa finished in 02:49:05hrs and Kebena Chala finished in 02:49:09hrs taking second and third respectively behind

Deborah Pam the best performing female Nigerian took the Sixth-place after finishing in 02:52:59hrs.

Hot Read